How to Organize and Archive Files

Running out of hard disk space? I am and I need to do something about it fast. Backing it up can resolve some of these problems, but I believe sometimes you have to manually do some stuff

image

image

I am a sort of pack rat, I will admit and I have files on these system going back as far as five years ago. I think its time to delete and move some stuff I am no longer using to my external hard disk. Lets take at doing this using the organization tools built into Windows 7. The first place I will start by looking at is my Downloads folder since I do a lot of downloading.

image

In order to properly analyze what we can discard, keep and move to an external hard disk, we will use the Change View menu. Click the Change View menu and click Details.

image

You will now notice that your files are organized with more details. To further customize the view, click on the Date Modified column heading. This will allow us to view the files when they were last used or edited. Another column I recommend you display is the Date Created column.

image

Right click the Column heading and click Date created.

image

This will give us a better idea of the age of the file and if its worth keeping.

image

Looking through my Downloads folder, I have files dating back as far as early 2007 and the last time I accessed them were in 2007. Definitely not worth keeping on the drive. So these files will be archived and moved to my external hard disk.

Archiving

Obviously, to do something like this, you are gonna need an external hard disk. You could choose DVD as a method of backup, but they can be unreliable and more of a chore, especially with disc swapping involved. Once you have identified the files you need to Archive, open your external hard disk and create a folder specifically for these files called Archive.

image

Open it then Go back to the folder (window) where your old files are currently on your local hard disk. Select the files then click Organize > Copy

image

Go back to the Archive folder (window) we created on the external hard disk, then click Organize > then click Paste

image

image

Wait while the files are copied over. After this is completed, go back to the folder and click Organize > Delete or press the Delete key on your keyboard.

Simplify file selection and copying

If you want to select files within a date range, simply select first file then click any file within the range, see below:

image

image

Repeat these steps for other person folders such as Documents, Music, Pictures and Videos. When you have done archiving, you can proceed to permanently delete these files from your Recycle Bin if any are stored there:

image

I was able to get back good 10 GBs worth of disk space just from my Downloads folder alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under 7 Journal

Leave a Reply

