Vista: Expect a Premium Push (With Premium Prices)

 
Quote:
"Microsoft still isn’t talking specifics regarding its Windows Vista pricing plans. But company watchers are predicting the Redmond software maker could reap big rewards from its planned premium-edition push.
 
Microsoft is still holding many specifics about Windows Vista — pricing among them — close to the vest. But Redmond’s reticence to talk isn’t stopping company watchers from speculating.

Goldman Sachs & Co. analyst Rick Sherlund issued a research note earlier this month, noting that Goldman is now figuring Microsoft could garner an extra $1.5 billion per year in revenues simply by persuading users to buy the premium Vista versions.

Microsoft announced earlier this year that it is readying six core Vista packages, or SKUs: Windows Starter 2007; Windows Vista Enterprise; Windows Vista Home Basic, Windows Vista Home Premium, Windows Vista Ultimate, and Windows Vista Business.

Read the rest here

I am still concerned about what will be in Ultimate Edition for me as a consumer that will make it worthy over Home Premium. I know I will get Vista Enterprise on the desktop at work. For Ultimate Edition, its enticing that it will combine features from both Home Premium and Enterprise, but I will probably need a Tablet PC instead of a desktop, I usually don’t carry home work from the Office, so its a bit confusing here. Like I said, I will get Enterprise Edition on my desktop at work, does it mean I need to get Ultimate on my machine at home?

The reason I ask these questions is simply because I am looking for value in Windows Vista, both at home and work. Its possible that Ultimate Edition will include a lot of online services for Genuine customers, but what will these services be? I need to see the cost first before I decide, if Ultimate replaces the premium price of XP Professional today, I will probably go for it instead. Right now, I am a bit in the dark.

2 Comments

Filed under Windows Vista

2 responses to “Vista: Expect a Premium Push (With Premium Prices)

  1. Trevor

    Hi Andre, long time no chat! I hope all is well!Microsoft has released estimated prices for Office 2007 here.http://www.microsoft.com/office/preview/pricing.mspx I haven\’t seen any pricing on Visto tho. Cheers

Leave a Reply

