What Vista can learn from Leopard

 
Quote:
"Apple Computer let developers know this week that its next Mac OS X version, Leopard, should spring onto store shelves next spring. It also lifted the veil somewhat on features planned for the operating system, but held back on some details.

Part of the secrecy was to prevent Microsoft from copying Apple’s ideas, CEO Steve Jobs suggested. "We don’t want our friends to start their photocopiers any sooner than they have to," he said.

Read the rest here

Out of all the comments except for one by a Windows Zealot none other than Robert Mclaws, everyone is pretty much impressed by Mac OS Leopard and are worried once again Microsoft has dropped the batton with Vista.

Robert McLaws

I’m still trying to figure out how Apple can call Microsoft "copycats" in one breath (who steals source code by photocopying it, anyways?) and then, in the next, introduce Time Machine (which is a rip-off of Windows’ Previous Versions"feature that has been around since Windows Server 2003). And doesn’t calling it "Vista 2.0" mean that they’re copying Vista 1.0?

But it doesn’t surprise me that they couldn’t get their joke right; they couldn’t even copy the Windows logo properly in the keynote.

From what I can tell, there isn’t anything in the new OS X that I can’t get in Vista, and then some. I can have a Tablet and a Media Center in one computer. I can hook up my Xbox 360 to that same machine (which Mac can’t do) and watch TV recorded off my digital cable tuner (which Mac won’t have). And you won’t need to have Office anymore to get some basic features like spam protection and calendaring. So I get all the features and more, without the smug self-righteousness of the pseudo-intellectual Mac zealotry.

What more could you ask for in an OS?

Read the other comments here 

Actually the Volume Shadow Copy Service has been around in XP since 2001, check the Services MMC under Admin Tools in Control Panel. Yes, I admit, Time Machine is a me too feature in Leopard, and I am sorry Robert failed to see the point that this is Apples way of saying, we’re copying from you Redmond and we are going do even better than what you did. Time Machine makes three dimensional environments relevant, and Microsoft failed to see that, Apples implementation of System Restore, Backup Center, Volume Shadow Copy Service is way superior, now get over it, just the fact that they combine those three features into one program makes Apple a winner on the usability front.

As for Tablet PC, it has not taken off, I don’t own one, I don’t see the relevance of owning one, although, it would make sense owning one just for technology sake if I ended up purchasing the Ultimate Edition of Vista so I can use all of its features. Analyst have predicted that Tablet PC’s won’t take off until 2009, the last time I checked, its 2006 and Microsoft launched the technology in 2002 and originally started out with Pen for Windows which was also a failure, lets hope history does not repeat itself. As for Media Center, just like Front Row 1.0, earlier versions 2002 and 2004 had their up’s and down’s when it came to market penetration, we have not seen the Leopard version, so we cannot come to a conclusion. Look at the iTunes Music Store, regardless of Microsofts Windows Media Player, Play for Sure ecosystem, it has failed to create the market penetration the iPod and iTunes has with Microsoft having to start from scratch with Zune.

As for the XBOX 360, if I need that one feature, I can install Windows XP with Boot camp and boot into when I want play a game. Yes, no integration with the Mac OS, simply because the Mac OS is not a Microsoft product.

And you won’t need to have Office anymore to get some basic features like spam protection and calendaring. So I get all the features and more, without the smug self-righteousness of the pseudo-intellectual Mac zealotry.

I can’t make any sense of this, Windows does not bundle Office software, the productivity software I am aware of are Windows Mail and Calendar. I think we should be endorsing the competition instead of the jihad between Mac and Windows users which I would describe as so circa 2000. I don’t have anything against Vista, but I think comparing the Mac to Windows is not an easy thing since both are different platforms regardless of some apparant similarities in features.

7 Comments

Filed under Windows Vista

7 responses to “What Vista can learn from Leopard

  1. Jamie

    "Vista doesn\’t need to include (copy) any features of Mac OS X Leopard. What Vista needs to do is match or exceed the way Mac OS X implements its features. "
     
    Perfectly put.

  2. Andre

    Correct! So far, Microsoft\’s implementation of everything in Vista is lack luster, even Leopards 64 bit implementation sounds way better.

Leave a Reply

