Windows Live Spaces: The End of an Era

But the beginning of a new one.

Six years ago, I entered the world of blogging full time. Prior to that I had dabbled a bit but was put off by my early experience using Blogger which is now owned by Google. Initially called MSN Spaces, Windows Live Spaces which initially started out as a beta was an instant hit for me and I immediately jumped on it because I was interested in having a place on the Internet where I could express my views and share my experiences. In addition to that, I wanted a service that made it easy to do so. I remember starting out with everyday random thoughts or talking about everyday experiences. Over time my love of technology crept in and invigorated by blogging experience, at the time Microsoft was planning the next version of Windows, at the time code named ‘Longhorn’ which eventually became Windows Vista. I decided to focus on this particular release like so many others did at the time and it eventually help to galvanize my love for blogging over the years. Here is a screenshot of my blog back in 2004.

MSN Spaces December 2004 to September 27, 2010.

Today, Microsoft made a major announcement on the Windows Team Blog that it was ending support for the service but will be providing a way for the 30 million active Windows Live Space users to move to WordPress.com. Here is what Microsoft’s Dharmesh Mehta had to say:

As we looked at how we brought Windows Live and WordPress.com together, there were three big things we wanted to deliver:

  • Giving existing Windows Live Spaces customers an easy upgrade of their blogging experience to WordPress.com
  • Letting anyone connect their WordPress.com blog to Messenger so their Messenger friends are updated when they publish a new post on WordPress.com
  • Allowing Windows Live customers to easily create new blogs on WordPress.com
Upgrading a Windows Live Spaces blog to WordPress.com

There are 30 million people who are actively using Windows Live Spaces and have been eagerly awaiting the next set of new blogging features. For these customers, Windows Live and WordPress.com have worked together to build a simple way to move your blog posts, comments, and integrated photos right over to WordPress.com and start taking advantage of all their new features. And we’ll also redirect all your old Spaces URLs to your new blog, so you don’t lose any visitors along the way

Learn more here

This is a bitter sweet ending for me, I am of course relieved that my years of investment in the service will not just wither away. I am most appreciative of this. I had the chance of familiarizing with WordPress a bit since I also blog at Notebooks.com so the transition should be fairly easy for me.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under MSN Spaces

Leave a Reply

