How to downgrade Windows 7 Editions

In this article we take a look at how to downgrade from one edition of Windows 7 to another. For instance, if you have Windows 7 Professional, but would like to downgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium. You might ask, for what reason? Well, there are scenarios where this issue might come up. Maybe you want to reassign Windows 7 Professional to another computer, and install Windows 7 Home Premium on it instead. Maybe the edition is not being used effectively and could be more useful else where such as a laptop you carry to work since Windows 7 Professional includes a lot of business features.

The problem is the process of reassigning licenses, this would probably mean you will have to backup data, prepare to reinstall applications and drivers then restore data. All of this can cost some down time. Luckily I found a cool little third party utility that allows you do this with ease. Its called Windows 7 Downgrader.

Windows 7 Downgrader will let downgrade popular editions such as Windows 7 Ultimate, Enterprise, Professional quickly and easily. Once it downgrades, all you need to do is insert the Windows 7 installation and do a repair upgrade to a desired edition. Lets take a look at how to do it.

First you need to download Windows 7 Downgrader here

Save the file to your hard disk and extract it.

Downgrade

Double click the Windows 7 Downgrader executable (notice I currently have Windows 7 Professional installed)

image

As you can see, the Windows 7 Downgrader utility is quite simple. You have three options which will allow you to downgrade to any of three editions: Ultimate, Professional or Home Premium. Downgrading to Ultimate is useful if you are running Windows 7 Enterprise and would like release that license, but don’t want to go through the chore of backing up and install from scratch.

Once you have identified the edition you would like downgrade to, click it. You might receive error message, click Continue. Do not restart your computer. Insert your Windows 7 installation DVD for the edition you want to downgrade to. In my case, I am downgrading to Windows 7 Home Premium, so I will insert the Windows 7 Home Premium installation DVD.

Step 1

Click Install Now

Step 3

Click Upgrade

WIN7-Step-5_thumb1

What you are doing now is a repair upgrade.

Upgraded

When the downgrade is complete, you should be successfully downgraded to the specific edition.

23 Comments

Filed under 7 Journal

23 responses to “How to downgrade Windows 7 Editions

  1. skprmass

    I tried this using a windows 7 ISO download from the internet and I get the error that it won’t upgrade due to the fact that the upgrade version is older than my current version. What can I do? I want to upgrade to Win 8 but won’t be able to keep my apps and settings since I am running Win 7 enterprise.

  2. dillon

    so if i install this downgrade software and follow the step, i wont have to back anything up, everything on my c drive will be saved? please respond!

    • dillon

      this is odd, i replied because i accidentally mistyped my email and i wanted to show what it actually was, but then my first comment disappeared. my question is this: so if i install the downgrade software and follow the steps i wont have to backup anything and everything on my c drive will be saved? please answer asap, email is dcchq@lavabit.com

  3. Does this still work? I tried upgrading using my friends Ultimate key the key is faulty. Please reply! if you can email me at sdanny0408@gmail.com ! all it appreciated!

  4. There is nothing to download in the link you provided.

  5. Nevermind, I found it. thx

  6. Paul Botos

    Andre,
    Can you downgrade from a retail version to an OEM version using this method?

  7. Mart

    For me clicking on “Downgrade” does nothing. The small dialog just sits there indefinitely. Any ideas why that could be? Its windows 7 Build 7601 Enterprise 64bit

  8. Paul Botos

    One more question Andre, can you use an upgrade DVD and key to accomplish the downgrade? e.g. Windows 7 Ultimate to Windows 7 Home premium using a upgrade version of Home Premium.
    A qualifying retail version of Windows XP is on hand and no longer used.

    Thanks again.

    Paul

  9. Marcel

    I have Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit installed, but my Laptop has an OEM Windows 7 Pro license key. Will I be able to use Windows 7 downgrader?

  10. Mithras Angel

    Can I use an OEM version of Win 7 Pro (w/SP 1) and use any valid key I have? I ask because I have one disk, but multiple legit keys (I’ve no idea where the other disks went).

  11. Howard

    I have Enterprise 7 installed with a KMS key that needs refreshing every 180 days. I no longer have the ability to refresh. My computer is a Dell and I have the Dell OEM Win 7 Professional DVD with a valid key. Will the downgrade work with that Dell OEM DVD? Thanks

  12. Howard

    Sorry. me again. If the downgrade software is reliable, I would be happy to purchase a retail version of Win 7 Pro. Much cheaper than the time to reinstall everything and restore all the data. I presume the downgrade software knows that anyone on Enterprise would have either a KMS or MAK activation but handles it and changes the OS to the desired one. Thanks again. I have about 2 weeks to do something before the activation key expires.

  13. Hbjorns

    Hi and thank you for this post. I’ve downloaded this program but nothing happens when I hit the “Downgrade to Professional” – no error, nothing. I’ve also tried running it as an administrator but to no success. I have a domain computer running an Enterprise OS version but would like to downgrade it to Pro. Do you have any suggestions?

  14. I have a Windows 7 Professional DVD that is a 64 Bit DVD because that is the only bit my PC will run but however I also have a OEM Key for Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Edition Service Pack 1 through Asus International my question is how am i able to complete the upgrade from Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1 with my retail DVD product key to Ultimate without a product key that works I also have the same problem with my Vista because this PC has Vista by default but I have decided to use Windows 7 instead of Windows Vista Ultimate 64 Bit Service Pack 2

  15. Efrain de la Rosa

    It does not work in my computer. I have, what I now know it’s a counterfeited key for 7 Ultimate and wanted to downgrade again to my legit Home Premium. It will not work when I start the Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade disk. It says, in other words, that my installed version cannot be downgraded. What to do???

    • What was the exac message? I had a ‘You can’t upgrade’ message and it turned out to be because my ISO was Win 7 original and I’d installed SP1. Grabbed an SP1 ISO and now I’m all set.🙂

  16. Just wanted to say thanks. This was so helpful!

    I wanted to get my free copy of Windows 10 but I was running an enterprise key on my gaming rig. I used this to downgrade to Professional and I’m now eligable for the free Win 10 upgrade.🙂

  17. why is nobody replying to several comments that nothing happens when you click the downgrade button

Leave a Reply

