How to fix iTunes Library Locked Permission Error in Windows

The other day I upgraded a friends computer to Windows 7. Prior doing the upgrade, I had deauthorized her iTunes library to preserve the amount of available authorizations he was allowed. Sometimes upgrading Windows on the same machine can count as another machine. After the upgrade was complete and I was ready to reauthorize the machine, when I launched iTunes, I received the following error message:

image

The permission error got me curious as this would suggest something related to privilege. I decided to check out what’s going on with this Library.itl file. Here is how I came to resolve this issue.

Click Start > Music

Open the iTunes Library folder

image

Right click iTunes Library.itl file then click Properties

image

Go to the Security tab, there was my problem. It seems like during the upgrade, all user permissions were removed for this file. All we need to do is add back all the right groups and users with the correct permissions.

Click Edit

image

Click Add

image

Click Advanced

image

Click Find Now

image

Select your user account, SYSTEM and the Administrator (Ctrl + Click to select more than one account at time)

Click OK

Then click OK again

image

For both users you just added, set the permissions to Full Control

image

Click OK

Then click Apply and OK again

You should be able to launch iTunes.

6 Comments

Filed under 7 Journal

6 responses to “How to fix iTunes Library Locked Permission Error in Windows

  1. Laura

    Thank you a million times! This worked and I am so, so , so grateful🙂

  2. Amy

    Thank you so much for posting this solution. It was the only one that worked and I’m finally back in my iTunes after a month of trying to figure this out! You rock!!!

  3. steph

    thank you for this solution!

  4. Pingback: Fix How To Fix Windows Error 127 Itunes Errors - Windows XP, Vista & Windows 7, 8

  5. Max

    gr8 this works for me too..thanks

  6. phil martin

    thank you very much yor the best

Leave a Reply

