How to get your free Windows Media Center key for Windows 8 Pro

Users of the Windows 8 Pro edition can receive a free product key for Windows Media Center for a limited time. Media Center is Microsoft’s software for watching DVD’s, streaming movies and TV shows. If you don’t have Media Center installed, you will have to choose a third party application such as VLC Player or Real Player for watching DVD movies. Some PC OEMs will include a built in DVD player such as Power DVD. Users of Windows 8 must upgrade to Windows 8 Pro in order to receive the free Media Center. Lets take a look at how to do it.

First, make sure you have Windows 8 Pro installed, to find out if you have it installed:

Press Windows key + X

Click System and look under Windows edition


So we have confirmed we have Windows 8 Pro is installed. Next step is to go to the following link:


Scroll down and fill in the required information to receive a product key install Windows Media Center.


Click Send my product key

NOTE: The product key can take between 48 to 72 hours to arrive, mine took about 5 days, so be patient. If you don’t see it, check your Junk Mail folder or contact support at:


Once you have received your product key, follow the instructions to install it. Lets take a quick look at how to do it:

Press Windows key + X

Click System


Under Windows edition, click the link Get more features with a new edition of Windows


Click the link I already have a product key


Enter your product key and click Next.

mce install

Accept the license agreement and click Add features to begin the installation.

mce install 2

Wait while Windows Media Center is installed. Your system will automatically restart.

mce install 3

Media Center is now installed. You can launch it from the Start Screen.

mce install 4

Thats it!


Filed under 8 Journal

12 responses to “How to get your free Windows Media Center key for Windows 8 Pro

  1. luca salvatore gallina

    thank you for yor answers; i have call italian Microsoft 3 day ago: i waiting a product key again for windows 8 Pro .

  2. Do Quoc Dat

    i have actived win8 pro,but since i added key wmc,i can’t active

    • Try phone activation:
      1. Press Windows key + X then clickRun, then type: slui.exe 4
      2. Next press the ‘ENTER’ key
      3. Select your ‘Country’ from the list.
      4. Choose the ‘Phone Activation’ option.
      5. Stay on the phone (do not select/press any options) and wait for a person to help you with activation.
      6. Explain your problem clearly to the support person.

  3. José Dias Rodrigues Antunes
    this is what my Windows 8 system, show. But i don’t have the option to ‘add features’. Could be for my license is a license in ‘Volume Licensing’? If yes how can i put de Windows media center, if it’s possible.
    thank’s for na answer.

  4. kirra

    I tried entering in my email address (and a few other ones) and keep getting “We couldn’t process your order.” and a link to the Terms & Conditions on the same page after clicking “Send my product key”. I can confirmed that I do have Windows 8 Pro installed. Any suggestions? I will try calling tech support during office hours, but other than that I am stumped.

  5. Ashish

    Dear friend,
    Thank you for your reply.

    Today after six day i got a email containing Windows Media Centre Key. But i still don’t know how i can get my 2nd key for the same.

    Can I use one key in both the pcs (installed windows 8), because whenever i tried to apply for Media Centre in web page, an error msg appears as mentioned in my first thread.

    I expect for guidance again.

    thank you

  6. Tom

    mine keeps telling me : We couldn’t process your order.
    Terms & Conditions

  7. Steven

    I ordered 2 copies of Win8 upgrade (DVD version),, one for each computer in my home.
    I got one key (for the media center offer) with one e-mail address, but when I try anoter e-mail address for a 2nd key for the other computer and win8 install, the website just says some b.s. about contacting support… (it says ‘only one per e-mail address’. But that’s a lie if it will not let you get another…). I tried hitting talk to support, but it does not do anything, just sits there.. just very frustrasted,, play by the rules, and have problems..

    guess I have to just keep trying to talk to them and ask why they don’t honor their own rules.. plus, the offer is only good until Jan 31, so they can keep this up until it expires.. **sigh**

    • Steven

      I contacted MS support, and was told to contact another MS support number and website…. still have to try again with the one they gave me…

  8. RD

    This is not working. I can’t get anyone on the phone. Just a recording. I’m always getting a “We couldn’t process your order” message!

    This is the 3rd PC I’m upgrading to Win 8. On the other 2 everything went fine, except on this one.

  9. Mr Leslie Wood

    I had windows media centre for windows 8 pro and had a product key and it was activated. It has now disappeared and I can’t find the product key

  10. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to offer one thing back and help others such as you aided me.

Leave a Reply

