Get Started with Windows 10

Summary

In preparation for the launch of Windows 10 this summer, many of you might want to get up to speed with the new features and functions included in the new version. I have been evaluating Windows 10 since October 1st 2014 and I have managed to the see the operating system go through its ups and downs during that time. The experience has afforded me the ability to have an intimate experience with this platform.  For the average user who probably just started learning about Windows 10 a couple months ago, a few days ago or even a few months from now, these Getting Started guides should help you hit the ground running. Don’t worry, I will continually update this wiki-article with new content. Please don’t hesitate to share your feedback in the comments.

Details

Before you start

Pre-requisite Task

When making significant changes to your computer such as updating the operating system, you should always backup. See links to resources about backing up by clicking the link for the respective version of Windows you are running: Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1

Installation

Troubleshooting installation:

Customize and Personalize

After Installing Windows 10

Everyday Tasks

Maintenance

Miscellanous

Advance

3 Comments

Filed under 10 Journal

3 responses to “Get Started with Windows 10

  1. Zephaniah Waks

    your answer at
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-win_upgrade/windows-10-update-on-multiple-computers/b3f024dc-8219-48bd-b763-d7afde45df3e
    re iso: is that 100% sure, do u have a source for that? i have several computers to update, so obviously that is the solution i want.

  2. Hello – Hoping you can help…
    I upgraded my third PC from Windows 7 Home Premium to Windows 10 today. The first two went off with no major issues. This upgrade resulted in me having three accounts, none of which have administration privileges.

    I don’t know how or why I lost admin on my main account. I did change it from a local account to a Microsoft online account after the upgrade, but I did not change it from administrator as far as I know.

    I have found some instructions about using the recovery mode Administrator account to create a new account with admin privileges. I did create a new account as part of the Administrators group, but it does not appear on my start menu as a login choice.

    Any assistance / advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

    Dennis

  3. Derrick Russell

    When i log on as administrator in Windows 10, the start menu, cortana, and edge are all missing. They are present when my wife logs on.
    When i click the start button i get “your start menu is not working ; we will try to fix it next time you log on” but nothing happens. I am waiting for a fix. I do not want or deserve to have to do control line stuff to put this right.

Leave a Reply

