How to troubleshoot Product Activation in Windows 10

This article can now be found in its entirety at Groovypost.com:

How to Fix Windows 10 Product Key Activation Not Working

Please review the latest Wiki Article about using your Windows 7, Windows 8.0 or Windows 8.1 product key to Install and Activate using the Windows 10 November Update (1511) build 10586.0. This article discusses issues  activating the initial July build 10240.

How to install and activate Windows 10 using your Windows 7 or Windows 8 product key

Thank you,

Andre

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “How to troubleshoot Product Activation in Windows 10

  1. Ted Baida

    I use a 2004 Dell desktop with Windows XP and I have questions about going from that to the now available Windows 10. I know I need a new PC.

  2. Jean Kennedy

    Hello I need your help!!!
    I decided to download Windows 10 after having offers of the free upgrade. It went well! except for the PROBLEM that I had no physical keyboard at all on my laptop after downloading. I was distraught but found I could just about get some help from an on screen keyboard which required clicking each letter with the mouse pad. I tried to get help from Microsoft, eventually had a call back from them. Was told I needed to download the drivers from my PC supplier HP. I tried to do this but was told I needed to download the drivers from Microsoft or Roll Back to my previous version 8.1.
    After 4 days of not being able to use my laptop I thought the best option was to Roll Back . So I did this, I was told it would take a while but saw the message that it was progressing. Eventually this worked I thought I was safe at last. Nooooo I was back to windows 8.1 but still no keyboard and no access to any files after logging in. I am now desperate, it appears that I am deeper in trouble than ever. I am terrified I may have lost all my files. Please say you can help me. I had no information before I downloaded Win.10 about the dangers possible. I am using my friends laptop to contact you.
    and I have emails on my phone. Thank you Jean Kennedy

    • •Attach USB keyboard and mouse to complete installation.
      •When installation is complete check Windows Update for the latest updates and install the appropriate drivers for your keyboard and TouchPad.
      •Go to manufacturers website and download the latest chipset drivers for your system model and install them

      or
      •Log out and go to the sign in screen.
      •Hold down the shift key on your keyboard while clicking the Power button on the screen.
      •Continue to hold down the shift key while clicking Restart.
      •Continue to hold down the shift key until the Advanced Recovery Options menu appears.
      •Click Troubleshoot
      •Click Advanced options
      •Click Startup Settings
      •Click Restart
      •Press (4) to Enable Safe Mode
      •Wait while Windows 10 starts in safe mode.
      •Log in
      •Press Windows key + X
      •Click Device Manager
      Expand Keyboards, right click and uninstall your keyboard, use your mouse to exit Device Manager and restart

      http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/insider/wiki/insider_wintp-insider_devices/how-to-install-and-update-drivers-in-windows-10/a97bbbd1-9973-4d66-9a5b-291300006293

  3. Hi Andre, I have the highest regards of your MVP work on MS answers (and thanks in advance on your time). I hate bothering you, but after days of reading and reading on the licensing, transfer rights – I’m still at odds as to what happens to retail licenses. The closes that describes is the post here – and your question below – http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-win_upgrade/reinstalling-windows-10-after-upgrade/578d0b7f-57e4-4893-b9d1-6cfac0d6290a?tm=1434646337185

    I trust you as a source (as MS currently doesn’t have anything definitive – apart from our software license agreement).

    So in short (I’ll telegraph this to essentials, but I’m sure it’s clear to you) – retail license, motherboard change (new machine), transfer of the upgraded Windows 10 – especially what happens “after the July 2016” – as until that time we have a clear upgrade path by installing old windows and doing an upgrade.
    Thanks a lot and apologies again – I’m sure you must have smarter things to do🙂 but I just couldn’t find anything definitive.
    Dragan

  4. steve West

    I have downloaded windows 10 and found I cannot retrieve some files from my documents even though I was told by your website that my comuter and files were compatible>. I rang a site that purported to be a division of Microsoft on the web and was told they would fix it for a price when their blurb said it was free

  5. William Deutsch Jr

    That did not work for me. I had the same with a desktop.

Leave a Reply

