How to install apps in Windows 8

What is Windows without applications? We use them to do all sorts of things, manage our finances, browse the web, connect and communicate with friends, compose documents and a myriad of other tasks. Today, we take a look at how to install applications in Windows 8 using Windows Desktop App and the Windows Store.

Installing an app using Windows Desktop

If you have a traditional desktop app you would like to use such as Microsoft Office or Adobe Photoshop, you can install your application from the Desktop app. Depending on the medium on which application is available, you might see different options on the Windows screen. For this example, we are going to install Microsoft Office from a CD.

Insert the disc:

desktop app 1

The following popup menu will appear from the right of the screen, click on it to choose an action.

image

Depending on the options available, you can choose to run the application or open and view the files on the disc. Some applications might not present an option to Run the program, so you might have to ‘Open folder to view files’ and run the setup.exe file from there. Your options depending on the program you are installing from might be different. 

image

Consult the documentation that came with your program for instructions about how to install it. Follow the on screen options to install your program.

image

Wait while the program installs.

image

Thats it, your program is now installed.

Installing Metro Apps using Windows Store

Windows 8 presents a new paradigm in software development and software distribution. The future is headed in a direction web only for procuring software. Windows 8 embraces this new way of acquiring software with its new Windows Store. Lets take a look at how to acquire and install an app using it:

image

From the Start Screen, click the Store tile

image

Wait while the store loads

image

Once the Store has loaded, you will see a tile based user interface which uses a horizantal scrolling system for browsing the various categories of applications available at the Store.

The store makes it quick and easy to find apps that meet your budget, whether you want a paid app or something thats free, new releases or top applications in the store. Applications are also categorized, so you can choose from. Here are a list of categories available:

  • Games
  • Social
  • Entertainment
  • Photos
  • Music & Videos
  • Books & Reference
  • News & Weather
  • Food & Dining
  • Travel
  • Productivity
  • Tools
  • Security
  • Education

image

Some of the top free applications in the Windows Store

There is just about something for everyone and as Windows 8 approaches launch, you will see even more apps than what is available in the store today.

Acquiring an app

In this example, I am going to download a free app from the Windows Store. For this example, I am going to download Evernote Free.

image

After finding the app I want, just click on it.

image

After you click on the app, you will be taken to a description page for the app. You can also view details about the app, such as system requirements along with reviews by other users who have installed the app and screen shots of the app. The page also displays a rating for the app.

image

When you are ready to install the app, just click Install

image

You can go back to the Start screen or desktop and do something else in the mean time. When the application is installed, you will be notified:

image

Application installed and ready to be used.

Go to the Start Screen and launch your application:

image

image

Couldn’t be simpler. Smile 

 

48 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

48 responses to “How to install apps in Windows 8

  1. sunny

    my problem is not solved yet actually none of the software I installed earlier in windows 7 are not installing after I uninstalled the soft wares but before it was working in windows 7

  2. Pingback: How to upgrade from Windows XP to Windows 8 | Teching It Easy: with Windows

  3. Pingback: How to upgrade from Windows Vista to Windows 8 | Teching It Easy: with Windows

  4. Pingback: 20 Plus Tips to Get Started with Windows 8 | Teching It Easy: with Windows

  5. That’s great. Like the way MS doing that.

  6. hudini

    thanks for the info…getting to like it more and more…

  7. I have numerous programs (even Microsoft Word) from my Windows XP that did not install on Windows 8. I have been struggling trying to install those programs, but so far, no luck. What do I need to do to install a program (i.e. adobe flashplayer) that worked on Windows XP?

  8. Your Web site is fabulous. Well organized!

  9. sardor

    it’s not pending error code 0x8024001e

  10. Gwen

    I was trying to install the Amazon app and got this error code 0x80073cf9. It never did install.

  11. Mrs Khan

    i did understand that .. it worked for me . but I want to know how to search for face book app, where we can search new apps. …
    another thing I have added face book account in social app that comes on start how can I delete from there my face book …

  12. Caterra

    I tried this and it says it’s pending, but it doesn’t download. Even after an hour passes it hasn’t moved.
    I tried un-installing the app and trying again, but it still does the same thing. IS there something I have to do? or is there a problem with my windows 8 computer? Thanks.

  13. Gerri

    My Office 2010 was a downloaded version. I still have the product key, but I don’t know how to retrieve it so I can reactivate it. I really need help!!!!

    • laura

      Try Belarc Advisor, search for this on the internet, it will tell you all of the information you need about installed products on your PC

  14. Star

    My problem is that I can go into the app from the store to get the description, but for some reason there is no “install” option under the star ratings. I’m looking in the free stuff, but still, I should be able to get the option to install it. I’m confused.

  15. asharam

    I upgraded my acer laptop 4740 from window7 to w8 online. All was okay;after sometime there were some problems hence I reinstalled W8 with CD and clicked to keep nothing. Now I don’t find office, finding just helpless to work without excel or word. please assist.

  16. kate

    Skype but the app store is taking forever to open up

  17. I have no problem with the apps from the store, however, I would like to be able to download the amazon appstore & the google play store app. Microsoft seems to be blocking such actions. Is there a workaround that can be done to allow this ?

  18. Mario

    I am getting a message “apps did not install, you must turn Windows 8 Firewall on first” I been trying to do it but control panel does not give me a way to turn on the firewall.

  19. silvio villavicencio

    after install window 8 I can’t open my e-mail with the new mail window. window send me back to the old fashion mail, then from here I can’t open any videos or pictures but the worse part is my internet explorer do not work. window tell me that is a error opening

  20. This piece of writing presents clear idea for the new users of blogging, that in fact how to do blogging and site-building.

  21. Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and
    would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would
    value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  22. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specifically the final part 🙂 I deal with such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  23. Hola! I’ve been following your web site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  24. If some one wishes expert view on the topic of running
    a blog then i suggest him/her to pay a visit this weblog, Keep up the pleasant work.

  25. loz

    I can’t seem to do this, when I go to the market place the actual button that says install doesn’t appear

  26. I always emailed this weblog post page to all my contacts, since if like to read it
    afterward my friends will too.

  27. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a brand new
    scheme in our community. Your website provided us with
    valuable info to work on. You have performed an impressive job
    and our entire group will be grateful to you.

  28. Great info on how to download apps but I would like to know how to search for and download apps that are not shown here.

  29. Don Durham

    I installed Dungeon Hunter 4 with no problems. The other 9 apps say pending and have been for hours.

  30. april

    all my apps just say pending how do I fix this problem

  31. Pingback: How To Fix 0x8024001e Windows App Store Errors - Windows Vista, Windows 7 & 8

  32. Pingback: How To Fix 0x8024001e Windows 8 Store Errors - Windows Vista, Windows 7 & 8

  33. ramkumar

    i had a problem….I can’t download apps from store……I get pending

  34. dave c

    can any one help ,I can not install apps, I just get purchase error on any install

  35. joanne

    i have a 8.1 acer pc and its very new to me …..its telling me i have all these applications that are pending and i can’t seem to to download them

  36. tak suhail

    Please help me in Microsoft account 8494049805

  37. I need information about how to install a Pch apps on my windows phone.

  38. I like windows program

Leave a comment